A new adventure, a new chapter . . .

I turn to a fresh page, pen in hand, ready to begin writing . . . 

Not only because I am an avid reader and lover of literature, but the book metaphor works very well to explain how I see our forthcoming adventure.

My life so far, much like the plot of a book, has had exciting events, interesting characters, unexpected turns, and even my very own love story! And I am sure the newest adventure on the horizon will be no different.

We are planning to leave our lives behind in the UK (for a year at least) to move over to New Zealand in September to live and travel for a year. At the moment I am feeling a whole range of emotions about this upcoming trip – excitement, happiness, but also a bit of fear and anxiety. I have made some interesting choices in my life (and anyone who knows me will know this) , but which have always felt right at the time. Both me and my husband have moved around the country a fair bit pursuing various things we want to do, along with saving money to pursue one of our real loves and enjoyments in life – travelling. We have been lucky enough to go on two round the world trips so far as well as being incredibly lucky to get married at the beautiful Lake Tahoe in California in 2010, and also visited destinations such as the wonderful Iceland.

Clearly though, living in another country, will be completely different.  Even though we have moved around a lot (living in 8 different homes in the past 10 years!) strangely I still really like the comforts of home, and also being close to my family. Only time will tell how well we will adapt to constantly being on the move, and being so far away from family and friends.

I think it is normal and natural to felt a bit apprehensive, but we both also know that it is 100% the right decision for us at this time in our lives, and this strong feeling is carrying us through everything. I trained to be an English teacher last year and it certainly was the most stressful year of my life – but also very interesting and rewarding. All of the teachers I worked with have been incredibly supportive and interestingly every single one of them when I asked their advice about New Zealand said “Go! Go!”. Taking a break from the crazy world of education will be good, and I know I can return to it when we return.

With regards to this new chapter in our life then, I end by saying I am filled with excitement, hope (and a sprinkling of nerves!) as to what will be written . . .

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A new adventure, a new chapter . . .

  1. I’m excited for you! It’s going to be amazing. I wish more young couples would take the risks you guys are taking. You’ll never regret it!

    Looks like we will get there just before you. We’ll take good notes and pass them on! =)

  2. Thank you! I’m really excited for you and your family too. It’s definitely a risk for us but am sure it will be an unforgettable year! I’m sure you will love NZ – it really is amazing! And I look forward to reading your posts/notes for tips! x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

