Proud to be British (but excited to be amongst Kiwis for a year!)

I haven’t had time to post for a while as have been very busy moving house and getting ready for our big adventure to New Zealand – which is now 5 weeks on Saturday – very exciting! Although, I have been glued to the Olympics and really loved every second of it! I am lucky enough to currently be working at home over the summer and was able to watch a fair bit of it. I have always been interested in sport, especially athletics, and competed (in school and local competitions) when I was younger and I have thoroughly enjoyed watching London 2012.

I was also privileged to be able to go to the Olympics with my Dad and watch football at Wembley (see my pics) – we watched South Korea versus Gabon (due to random allocation of tickets!) but had the most amazing day! We spent the morning in Hyde Park as part of BT London Live and watched the rowing on the big screen and were lucky enough to see Team GB win our first gold – it was a great atmosphere. We then made our way through the Olmpically-themed-decorated London to Wembley and really enjoyed the rest of our day.

Like millions of others I sat at home and watched that Saturday night and cheered Jess, Greg and Mo to their golds. I also enjoyed watching our boys do so well in the gymnastics, Bolt’s amazing personality and success, Murray’s victory over Federer, Tom Daley’s bronze, the Brownlee boys’ success in the triathlon, our cycling dominance (once I had worked out some of the more unique races!) and the last night of atheltics with Mo’s double gold.

So, I end this proud with the thought that although not a crazily patriotic person I do feel proud to be British and I feel lucky to have been part of something so memorable and historic. I also look forward to our upcoming year in New Zealand and the chance to experience the Kiwi culture and way of life – bring it on!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

