Going into space and work as a travel writer

A spaceship, myself and John, 9 weeks – the whole of New Zealand!!

Spaceship Image from www.groupon.co.nz

So for those of you unfamiliar with a spaceship, it is basically a really cool mini van/camper van type vehicle. Take a look on their website for more information, but it contains all sorts of goodies including a fridge, bed and dvd player! We plan to live in our lovely spaceship for 9 weeks as we travel all over New Zealand, stopping at various holiday parks and DOC campsites along the way. As regular readers of my blog will know we have already covered a lot of NZ so far – with trips in 2006, 2010 and our 4 months in the country so far. But, we haven’t seen it from this point of view and really want to go further off-the-beaten-track and get close to nature.

We plan to collect the Spaceship from Queenstown on April 5th, and spend the next 9 weeks covering both South and North island and dropping the Spaceship back in Auckland on June 6th.

I also have the great opportunity to work for Spaceships as a travel writer, after approaching them with a proposal to contribute material and photographs to them from our trip. In return we will receive discounted travel, and I will get to do something I love – write and take photographs along the way!

I also see this as awesome research for my off-the-beaten-track travel consultancy business (Blue Penguin Travel) that I am in the process of setting up. The more I can see of New Zealand the better I can help people have their own amazing adventures.

For those of you who know me personally, you may be asking ‘How will Nicola cope?’ and yes unashamedly I am not the most ‘camping-friendly’ person you will ever come across!! I haven’t ever properly camped before, I am a very fussy eater and I do like my home comforts – my hairdryer, a nice shower, a snuggly dressing gown, a big comfortable bed and a toilet always at hand. Alas, the spaceship has none of these things – but you know what? I don’t care! Over the last 4 months being in New Zealand I have learnt to be a lot more laid-back and really try and make the most of every single second in every single day. I can’t wait to test myself, go out of my comfort zone and have the adventure of a lifetime! Bring on ‘lift off’ on April 5th! 🙂

Categories: Accommodation, Blue Penguin, Spaceship | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Going into space and work as a travel writer

  1. Elaine Kinnie

    Good for you Nicki. I am sure it will be amazing and well done on the travel writing job 🙂

  2. Pingback: Lift off for our spaceship adventure is tomorrow! | Our Amazing New Zealand Adventure

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

